The AAG Presidential Award is given with the purpose of recognizing individuals for their long-term, major contributions to geography. The Past President has the honor of bestowing this distinction on behalf of the discipline and the association.

Audrey Kobayashi

This year, Past President Mona Domosh will confer the 2016 award to Audrey Kobayashi during the AAG Past President’s Address at the AAG Annual Meeting in San Francisco, which begins March 29-April 2, 2016.

She is recognized for her foundational contributions to understanding the intersectionality of gender, race, class and all forms of socio-economic difference that have reshaped what geography is and can be, and for her insistence that geography and geographers reflect critically on their whiteness.

Through her tireless work as editor, mentor, teacher, colleague, and friend she has strengthened geography by encouraging new and often challenging ways of seeing and understanding our world.