AAG Announces Recipients of 2017 Awards

The American Association of Geographers (AAG) congratulates the individuals and groups named to receive an AAG Award. The awardees represent outstanding contributions to and accomplishments in the geographic field. The awardees will be recognized at the AAG Annual Meeting in Boston during the AAG Awards Luncheon on Sunday, April 9, 2017.

Friends, family, and colleagues are invited to celebrate with the honorees. Admission, which includes a plated lunch, is only $55. Tables for parties of ten are also available. Buy tickets.

* * *

Community College Travel Grants

  • April Shirey, Grand Rapids Community College, Grand Rapids, MI

AAG Darrel Hess Community College Geography Scholarships

  • Amy Kennedy, transferring from Sinclair Community College in Dayton, Ohio to the Ohio State University

Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Award in Geographic Science

  • Coty Welch, University of North Alabama

AAG Dissertation Research Grants

  • Mia Bennett, University of California Los Angeles
  • Eric Nost, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Yoo-Min Park, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Brian Williams, University of Georgia
  • Sheridan Wright Kennedy, Rice University
  • Qunshan Zhao, Arizona State University

AAG Research Grants

  • Sarah Blue, Texas State University
  • Shouraseni Roy, University of Miami
  • Qiusheng Wu, State University of New York at Binghamton

J. Warren Nystrom Award

 Mel Marcus Fund for Physical Geography

  • Dr. Sally Horn, University of Tennessee

*** AAG Book Awards *** 

Humboldt Book Award for Enduring Scholarship in Geography

  • Geoffrey Martin, American Geography and Geographers, Oxford University Press, 2015 

The John Brinckerhoff Jackson Prize 

  • Lisa Benton-Short, The National Mall: No Ordinary Public Space, University of Toronto Press, 2016

The AAG Globe Book Award for Public Understanding of Geography\

  • Niem Nguyen, A Curriculum of Fear, University of Minnesota Press, 2016

The AAG Meridian Book Award for Outstanding Scholarly Work in Geography

  • Eric Sheppard, Limits to Globalization: The Disruptive Geographies of Capitalist Development, Oxford University Press, 2016

* * *

Program Excellence Award

  • The Department of Geography and the Environment, University of North Texas
  • Honorable Mention: The Geography Department, George Washington University

 Susan Hardwick Excellence in Mentoring Award

  • Beverly Mullings, Queen’s University

Glenda Laws Award

  • Sarah Hunt, University of British Columbia

The AAG Harold M. Rose Award for Anti-Racism Research and Practice

  • Melissa Wright, Pennsylvania State University

AAG Enhancing Diversity

  • Leela Viswanathan, Queen’s University

AAG Harm de Blij Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • Ronald Kalafsky,  University of Tennessee

 E. Willard and Ruby S. Miller Award

  • Hui Lin, Chinese University of Hong Kong

 The AAG Stanley Brunn Award for Creativity in Geography

  • David Harvey, City University of New York 

 AAG Honorary Geographer

  • James Hansen, Columbia University 

Atlas Award

  • Noam Chomsky, Massachusetts Institute of Technology 

 AAG Presidential Achievement Award

  • Roger Downs, Pennsylvania State University

*** AAG Honors ***

Distinguished Teaching Honors

  •  Michael Pretes, University of North Alabama

Ron F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors

  •  Julie Winkler, Michigan State University
  • Kent Mathewson

Distinguished Scholarship Honors

  • Patrick Bartlein, University of Oregon
  • Michael Storper, University of California, Los Angeles

Lifetime Achievement Honors

  • Ruth Fincher, University of Melbourne
  • David Robinson, Rutgers University