World Geography Bowl

world geography bowl

The World Geography Bowl is a quiz bowl tournament held annually since 1993 at the Annual Meeting of the AAG, featuring teams of graduate and undergraduate geography students representing each of the AAG’s regional divisions. Contestants are selected by regional divisions via a competitive process, which in many divisions includes participation in a regional geography bowl held at the division’s annual meeting. If you are interested in participating, contact your regional division leadership for more information.

The winning team, runners-up, and high scoring individuals are awarded with prizes, provided by the generous donations of corporate benefactors. In addition, each participant in the World Geography Bowl receives a travel stipend, co-sponsored by the AAG and that student’s regional division, greatly offsetting expenses for attendance at the national meeting. Typically, approximately 50 students benefit each year from World Geography Bowl stipends.

The World Geography Bowl is fully staffed by volunteers, who write and edit questions and help run the proceedings as judges, scorekeepers and moderators. For more information on organizing a team, joining the World Geography Bowl Executive Committee, or volunteering at the national event, contact the World Geography Bowl executive director, Dr. Jamison Conley, at West Virginia University or the AAG Geography Bowl coordinator, Emily Fekete.

WGB2014_East-Lakes-champs2 geography bowl
AAG Pacific Coast Regional Division 2014 World Geography Bowl Champions
2017 Winning World Geography Bowl Team: Great Plains Rocky Mountain Region
2017 Winning World Geography Bowl Team: Great Plains Rocky Mountain Region

AAG World Geography Bowl Conduct Policy

The American Association of Geographers (AAG) World Geography Bowl is a friendly, team-oriented competition between students in the AAG Regional Divisions. General bullying, intimidation, or hostility directed toward volunteers, audience members, or student competitors (both between and within teams) at the AAG World Geography Bowl is not tolerated. Additionally, as an AAG-sponsored event, the World Geography Bowl falls under the AAG Annual Meeting conduct policy which states:

The American Association of Geographers (AAG) advocates a positive culture of inclusion and respect for the dignity of each individual. AAG opposes all forms of discrimination against and harassment on the basis of an individual’s race, age, religion, creed, color, ancestry, citizenship, national or ethnic origin, language preference, immigration status, disability, medical condition, military or veteran status, social or socioeconomic status or condition, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, or any other classification protected by applicable local, state or federal law. This policy applies to attendees, AAG staff, speakers, exhibitors, or event venue staff at any AAG-sponsored event, as well as AAG-sponsored meeting social events (such as the international reception, exhibit hall networking events, field trips and receptions).

Therefore, all student competitors, volunteers, and audience members at the AAG World Geography Bowl agree to comply with this policy and alert staff or security when they have knowledge of dangerous situations, violations of this policy, or individuals in distress. Those who are found to be in violation of this policy may be asked to leave, will forfeit their standing towards the MVP Award, and may forfeit their right to participate in future AAG World Geography Bowl events.

For more information about the AAG Conduct Policy visit here.

World Geography Bowl Previous Awardees

2023 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division

2022 Southwest Division

2021 Mid-Atlantic Division

2020 Canceled

2019 Mid-Atlantic Division

2018 Mid-Atlantic Division

2017 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division

2016 Southeast Division

2015 Association of Pacific Coast Geographers

2014 East Lakes Division

2013 Middle States Division

2012 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division

2011 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division

2010 Southeast Division

2009 Association of Pacific Coast Geographers

2008 Middle States Division

2007 Middle States Division

2006 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division

2005 Mid-Atlantic Division

2004 Southeast Division of the AAG

2003 Southwest AAG

2002 Middle States Division

2001 Southeast Division of the AAG

2000 Southeast Division of the AAG

1999 East Lakes Division

1998 East Lakes Division

1997 Middle States Division

1996 Southeast Division

1995 Southeast Division


1993 Southeast Division