As of July 1, 2017, the state of Ohio will have two university presidents who are geographers. Dr. Duane Nellis, president-elect at Ohio University (OU), will join Dr. Mary Ellen Mazey of Bowling Green State University (BGSU) as a leader of a public academic institution in Ohio. Mazey began her Presidency at BGSU in July of 2011 and holds a PhD in Geography from the University of Cincinnati, while Nellis holds his PhD in Geography from Oregon State University.

Mazey has previously served as Provost and Vice-President of Academic Affairs at Auburn University, as Dean of the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences at West Virginia University, and as Dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Wright State University. Nellis is joining OU from Texas Tech University where he served as President from 2013 to 2016 and was the President of the University of Idaho from 2009 to 2013. On top of his service at the University level, Nellis served as President of the National Council for Geographic Education from 1993 to 1994, as President of Gamma Theta Upsilon from 1999 to 2000, and as President of the AAG from 2002 to 2003.

As leaders in academia, Mazey and Nellis highlight the ways geographers contribute to furthering research, technology, engagement, and outreach within the University as well as in broader communities.

For more information, you can read Mazey’s BGSU biography and Ohio University’s press release for Nellis’ election.