Specialty Group

Applied Geography

The Applied Geography Specialty Group aims to increase the visibility of applied geography in the profession and the general population and facilitate communications among the Group members; promote and recognize individual excellence in applied geographic research.



Regular: $10
Student: $1
Dues waived for all eligible members joining under the AAG’s Developing Regions Membership Program


Chair: Rebecca Loraamm, University of Oklahoma
Vice Chair: Enoch Terlumun Iortyom, Ernest Bai Koroma University of Science and Technology
Secretary: Amanda Clayton, NASA DEVELOP National Program
Treasurer: Lauren Childs-Gleason, NASA Capacity Building Program
Student Representatives: Chinedu Nsude, University of Oklahoma
Immediate Past Chair: Hannah Torres, George Mason University
Anderson Medal Committee Chair: Mike DeMers, New Mexico State University
Awards Committee Chair: Thomas Thaler, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences



Social media

Twitter: @applied_geog

Geography Essentials

Join This Group

The AAG has 75 specialty and affinity groups, which offer members valuable networking opportunities within their areas of interest. To join one of these groups, you must be an AAG member.

Join AAG