Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

Anderson Medal

The James R. Anderson Medal of Honor in Applied Geography is the highest honor bestowed by the AAG Applied Geography Specialty Group. It is awarded by the group's board of directors in recognition of highly distinguished service to the profession of geography. It is awarded to individuals or groups who have contributed notably to the advancement of the profession in one or more areas of industry, government, literature, education, research, service to the profession, or public service.

For more information, please refer to the Applied Geography Specialty Group's webpage.

Previous Recipients

2015  William Derrenbacher

2014  Jeffrey Osleeb and Jerome Dobson

2012  Lee R. Schwartz

2011  Robert B. Honea

2010  Michael N. DeMers

2007  Michael Sutcliffe

2004  Marilyn A. Brown

2003  Barry Wellar

2002  Richard D. Wright

2001  William B. Wood

2000  Kingsley E. Haynes

1999  Joel R. Morrison

1998  Jack Dangermond

1997  Frank H. Thomas

1996  John W. Frazier

For a complete listing, consult the AGSG web page.