Two Geographers Awarded 2014 Guggenheim Fellowships

Anthony Bebbington, professor and director of Clark University’s Graduate School of Geography, and Diana Liverman, professor at the University of Arizona, were recently awarded a 2014 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship. They were among the 178 scientists, artists and scholars from the almost 3,000 applicants from the United States and Canada to receive an award this year.

Bebbington’s award was in support of his forthcoming book, “Natural resource extraction in Latin America: transforming the human-environment, challenging social science.” His research addresses the political ecology of rural change, with a particular focus on extractive industries and socio-environmental conflicts, social movements, and indigenous organizations and livelihoods.

Starting in late summer, Liverman will use her one-year fellowship to write a book on poverty and climate change in the Americas. She plans to outline policies that work with communities to reduce climate risks through a variety of programs, such as small-scale irrigation and water conservation, shade, mobility and warning systems. Her goal is to identify solutions that eliminate poverty, reduce emissions and help people adapt to climate change.

Established in 1925 by former U.S. Senator and Mrs. Simon Guggenheim, the foundation has sought from its inception to “add to the educational, literary, artistic, and scientific power of this country, and also to provide for the cause of better international understanding. The foundation has granted more than $315 million in Fellowships to almost 17,700 individuals, including scores of Nobel laureates and poets laureate, as well as winners of Pulitzer Prizes, Fields Medals, and other important, internationally recognized honors.