Specialty Group


To encourage cartographic research, promote education in cartography and map use, and facilitate the exchange of ideas and information about cartography, promote interest in and correct utilization of maps and other cartographic products, promote and facilitate the cartographer’s role within the geographic profession, promote and coordinate activities and directions with other professional organizations involved with cartography.


Regular: $10
Student: $2



Chair (2023-2024): Jack Swab jswab@uky.edu
Vice-Chair: TBD
Secretary/Treasurer (2022-2023, Interim):
Jiayan Zhao jiayan.zhao@gess.ethz.ch
Academic Director (2022-2024): Jiayan Zhao
Academic Director (2021-2023):
Stephanie Deitrick Stephanie.Deitrick@asu.edu
Non-Academic Director (2021-2023):
Jacob Wasilkowski jwasilkowski@esri.com
Student Director (2022-2023):
Gabriella Smith Gabriella.SubiaSmith@colorado.edu
Past Chair (2022-2023):
Xinyue Ye xinyue.ye@tamu.edu
Diversity and Inclusion Committee Chair (2022-2023):
David Retchless retchled@tamug.edu

Community Website

Geography Essentials, Spatial Narratives

Join This Group

The AAG has 75 specialty and affinity groups, which offer members valuable networking opportunities within their areas of interest. To join one of these groups, you must be an AAG member.

Join AAG