Specialty Group


The Africa Specialty Group’s mission is to enhance geographic research and scholarship on matters relating to Africa by encouraging effective communication of knowledge and information and supporting innovative approaches to geographic education on Africa.



Regular: $15
Student: $5


Samuel Adu-Prah, PhD
LDB Geography & Geology
Sam Houston State University
PO Box 2148
Huntsville, TX 77341-2027


Social media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AfricaAag

Geography Essentials, Planning and Development, Spatial Narratives

Join This Group

The AAG has 75 specialty and affinity groups, which offer members valuable networking opportunities within their areas of interest. To join one of these groups, you must be an AAG member.

Join AAG

African Geographical Review

The African Geographical Review is the journal of the AAG Africa Specialty Group. It provides a medium for the publication of geographical material relating to Africa, seeks to enhance the standing of African regional geography, and to promote a better representation of African scholarship. Articles cover all sub-fields of geography, and can be theoretical, empirical or applied in nature.

Members of the AAG’s Africa Specialty Group receive a complimentary online subscription to the journal. If you are interested in receiving this journal, consider adding a membership of the African Specialty Group to your AAG membership for just $15 per year ($5 for students). African Specialty Group members are granted an access code by the journal publisher. More information about individual and institutional subscription rates can be obtained from Taylor and Francis.


The journal seeks to enhance the standing of African regional geography and to promote a better representation of African scholarship.

The journal was founded in 1963 by the Ugandan Geographical Society at Makerere University and then called the East African Geographical Review. During the 1980s and early 1990s, publication of the journal was interrupted by political instability in Uganda but resumed in 1997. In 2000 the Africa Specialty Group of the AAG took responsibility for the journal, renaming it the African Geographical Review and broadening its scope.

Article submission

Articles can be submitted to the African Geographical Review at any time. Manuscripts must be submitted electronically through Manuscript Central. All are subject to initial appraisal by the Editors and, if found suitable for further consideration, to double blind peer review by at least two independent, anonymous expert referees.

For detailed instructions about article submission see:



Godwin Arku, Western University, Canada

Associate Editor

Benjamin Neimark, Lancaster University, UK

Social Media Editor

Michael Strong, Glendale Community College

Editorial Board

Seth Appiah-Opoku, University of Alabama, USA

Julius Atlhopheng, University of Botswana, Botswana

Adrian Bailey, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong

Padraig Carmody, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Susan Craddock, University of Minnesota, USA

Nerhene Davis, Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology, University of Pretoria, South Africa

Ibipo Johnston-Anumonwo, State University of New York-Cortland, USA

Steven Jones, University of Alabama, USA

Brian King, Penn State University, USA
Isaac Luginaah, Western University, Canada

Opportuna Kweka, Department of Geography, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Brij Maharaj, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

William Moseley, Macalester College, USA

Jim Murphy, Clark University, USA

Benjamin Ofori-Amoah, Western Michigan University, USA

Joseph Oppong, University of North Texas, USA

Kefa Otiso, Bowling Green State University, USA

Narcisa Pricope, University of North Carolina, USA

Maano Ramutsindela, University of Capetown, South Africa

Julie A. Silva, University of Maryland, USA

David Simon, University of London, UK
Sarah Smiley, Kent State University, USA

Aondover Tarhule, University of Oklahoma, USA

Raphael Tshimanga, University of Kinshasa, DR Congo
Joseph Yaro, University of Ghana, Ghana

Ian Yeboah, Miami University, USA
Leo Zulu, Michigan State University, USA