Canadian Academy to Name Medal for AAG Past President Ross Mackay

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) has agreed to honor the memory of J. Ross Mackay, the world’s pre-eminent permafrost scientist of his generation, by striking a medal in his name that will recognize major, career-length achievements in Arctic research. Mackay served as President of the American Association of Geographers in 1969-70.

J. Ross Mackay, Canada’s pre-eminent Arctic scientist and a world authority on permafrost, passed away peacefully on October 28, 2014, at the age of 98. As a Past President of the AAG, he will be honored with a full memorial in the Annals of the American Association of Geographers, scheduled for publication in 2017.

The RSC medal will be awarded in any field of Arctic research, whether natural science or social science.