2015 AAG Honors Announced

The AAG will confer AAG Honors, the Association’s highest honors, to eight individuals for their outstanding contributions to the advancement or welfare of geography. Each year, the AAG invites nominations from the membership, which are then presented to the AAG Honors Committee for consideration.

The AAG Honors will be presented at the upcoming AAG Annual Meeting in Chicago, Ill., during a special awards luncheon on Saturday, April 25, 2015.

The AAG Honors will presented in the following categories (select a name to view citations):

AAG Lifetime Achievement Honors:
John P. Jones, III, University of Arizona
Bobby Wilson, University of Alabama

AAG Distinguished Scholarship Honors
Tony Bebbington, Clark University
Ruth DeFries, Columbia University

AAG Gilbert White Public Service Honors:
Elizabeth Oglesby
, University of Arizona

AAG Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors:
John Frazier
, Binghamton University, State University of New York
Rita Gardner, Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers)

AAG Gilbert Grosvenor Geographic Education Honors:
Michael Solem
, Association of American Geographers

AAG Distinguished Teaching Honors:
No award will be presented in this category this year.