Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers


Departments of geography and related subjects at African universities 



University of Benin Faculty of Environmental Sciences


University of Botswana Department of Environmental Science 

Burkina Faso

International Institute for Water and Environmental Engineering

Université de Ouagadougou Département de Géographie


American University in Cairo Minor in Environmental Science

Ain Shams University Department of Geography

Al Fayoum University Department of Geography

Assiut University Department of Geography

Cairo University Geography Section

Mansoura University Department of Geology

Minoufiya University Department of Geography


Addis Ababa University Department of Geography & Environmental Studies

Gondar University Deparment of Geography & Environmental Studies


University of Ghana Department of Geography & Resource Development

University of Cape Coast Department of Geography & Regional Planning


University of Nairobi Department of Geography & Environmental Studies

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology


Cadi Ayyad University Département de Géographie

Al Akhawayn University School of Humanities & Social Sciences


University Mohammed V Département des Sciences de la Terre et de l'Unive

Université Mohammed V de Rabat Department of Geography


Université Abdou Moumouni Département de Géographie


Federal University of Technology School of Earth & Mineral Sciences

University of Agriculture Abeokuta

University of Calabar Department of Geography & Environmental Science

University of Ibadan Department of Geography

University of Lagos Department of Geography

University of Nigeria, Nsukka Department of Geography


University of Rwanda School of Social, Political, & Administrative Sciences

University of Rwanda Centre for GIS and Remote Sensing 


Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar Faculté des Sciences et Techniques

Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar Faculté des Lettres et Sciences humaines

South Africa

Rhodes University Department of Geography

Stellenbosch University Department of Geography & Environmental Studies

University of Cape Town Department of Environmental & Geographical Science

University of Fort Hare Department of Geography & Environmental Science

University of Johannesburg Department of Geography, Environmental Management & Energy Studies

University of KwaZulu-Natal Discipline of Geography

University of Pretoria Department of Geography, Geoinformatics & Meteorology

University of the Western Cape Department of Geography, Environmental Studies, & Tourism

University of the Witwatersrand School of Geography, Archaeology, & Environmental Studies

University of Zululand Geography & Environmental Studies Programme


University of Dar Es Salaam Department of Geography


Makerere University Institute of Environment and Natural Resources


Help us update this directory! Send us submissions for missing information or changes to existing links by email.