Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

AAG Award Applications, Nominations Due in October

September 26, 2013

Deadlines for some AAG awards are approaching in October. Awardees will be recognized during the Awards Luncheon at the AAG's Annual Meeting. If you would like to nominate someone or apply on your own behalf, please follow the links highlighted in each award description below to the submission information on each award description page.

J. Warren Nystrom Award

This award, established by former AAG Executive Director J. Warren Nystrom, supports an annual prize for a paper based upon a recent dissertation in geography.

The deadline for applications has been extended to November 14, 2013. 

Eligibility for this competition is restricted to AAG members who have received the Ph.D. degree since April 1, 2011, and who have been members of the AAG for 2011, 2012 and 2013. Papers must be presented at the upcoming AAG Annual Meeting.

For complete submission information, visit

Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards 

These awards recognize excellence in academic performance by undergraduate students from the United States and Canada who are putting forth a strong effort to bridge geographic science and computer science, as well as to encourage other students to embark upon similar programs. The award is one of the activities of the Marble Fund for Geographic Science of the Association of American Geographers (AAG).

Deadline for Digital Submissions: October 15, 2013.

Each of the Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards consists of a cash prize of $1,000, a $200 credit for books published by the ESRI Press, and a certificate of recognition. Priority consideration is given to any of the awardees who may be interested in participating in ESRI’s summer internship program. 

Information on eligibility, application guidelines, and prior awardees is available at

William L. Garrison Award for Best Dissertation in Computational Geography 

This biennial award supports innovative research into the computational aspects of geographic science. The award is intended to arouse a more general and deeper understanding of the important role that advanced computation can play in resolving the complex problems of space–time analysis that are at the core of geographic science. The award is one of the activities of the Marble Fund for Geographic Science of the Association of American Geographers (AAG).

Deadline for Nominations: October 15, 2013.

For more information, visit

Harold M. Rose Award for Anti-Racism Research and Practice 

This award honors geographers who have a demonstrated record of the type of research and active contributions to society that have marked Harold Rose’s career. The award will be given to those who have served to advance the discipline through their research, and who have also had on impact on anti-racist practice. Individuals are eligible, regardless of their status as AAG members.

Deadline for Nominations: October 15, 2013

For more information, visit


blog comments powered by Disqus