Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

AAG Presents Noteworthy Awards during Annual Meeting Luncheon

May 16, 2013

AAG International Geographic Information Fund Awards

The AAG International Geographic Information Fund supports full-time students who are currently registered in an undergraduate or graduate degree program within the United States and who are working in any area of spatial analysis or geographic information science or systems. Three 2013 travel grants supported student attendance at the AAG Annual Meeting in Los Angeles.

Song GaoSong Gao, University of California Santa Barbara 

Ting LiuTing Liu, Florida State University 

Jasraj GramopadhyeJasraj Gramopadhye, University of North Carolina at Greensboro


AAG Community College Travel Awards

AAG provides Community College Travel Grants to support attendance at the AAG Annual Meeting by students from 2-year institutions. These travel funds are generously provided by Darrel Hess and Robert and Bobbé Christopherson. The award consists of conference registration, one year membership in the AAG, and a travel subsidy of $500 to attend the meeting.

Katherine RossKatherine Ross, Oxnard Community College

Dirk KinseyDirk Kinsey, Portland Community College

AAG Darrel Hess Community College Geography Scholarships

Outstanding students from community colleges, junior colleges, city colleges or two-year educational institutions who will be transferring as geography majors to four-year universities receive support and recognition from this scholarship program, including $1,000 for educational expenses. The scholarship has been generously provided by Darrel Hess of the City College of San Francisco to 23 students since 2006.

Eric Ahlgren, Santa Barbara City College, University of California at Santa Barbara

Dian Sipes, Santa Monica Community College, University of California, Los Angeles

Veronica Vogan, Cosumnes River Community College, California State University, Sacramento

2013 AAG Travel Grant for Members with Disabilities in Memory of Todd Reynolds

The AAG supports meritorious members with disabilities for travel support or other services related to enhancing their participation in AAG Annual Meetings. It is named in memory of Todd Reynolds who specialized in the experiences of people with disabilities in natural disasters. 2013 funds included support from the AAG's ALIGNED project through a grant from the U.S. National Science Foundation.

Debanuj DasGupta, Doctoral Student, Graduate Teaching Associate, The Department of Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies, The Ohio State University. DasGupta's work focuses on environmental rights, sexual rights and immigrant rights movements using feminist political philosophy, critical queer, race and migration theories in social and urban geography. As the New Voices Fellow, supported by the Ford Foundation and the Academy for Educational Development, he works with movements across the US to lead the campaign to remove the US HIV ban on travel and immigration.

AAG George and Viola Hoffman Award

The George and Viola Hoffman Fund award recognizes exceptional student research towards a master’s thesis or doctoral dissertation on a geographical subject in Eastern Europe. Topics may be historical or contemporary, systematic or regional, limited to a small area or comparative. Awardees receive $500 to support their research work.

Weronika KusekWeronika Kusek, Kent State University
"Post 2004 Polish Migration to London, UK: The Importance of Virtual Space and Technology in the Construction of Diasporic Networks"

J. Warren Nystrom Award

This prestigious annual prize distinguishes a paper based upon a recent dissertation in geography. Nystrom was the AAG Executive Director from 1966-1979 and an exceptional educator and professor of geography with a long and productive career in international relations as a senior official in Foreign Policy at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, an international relations consultant, and Senior Fellow at The Brookings Institution. 2013 Nystrom Committee Members are Katherine Klink, (Chair)‬‬, ‪Wei Li‬‬‬, ‪Joshua Muldavin‬‬‬, and ‪Thad Wasklewicz‬‬‬.‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬

Joseph HollerJoseph Holler, University of Mary Washington
“Is Sustainable Adaptation Possible? Determinants of Adaptation on Mount Kilimanjaro,” dissertation completed at the University of Buffalo.


2013 AAG Meredith F. Burrill Award

The AAG Meredith F. Burrill Award honors work of exceptional merit and quality that lies at or near the intersection of basic research in geography on the one hand and practical applications or policy implications on the other. The purpose of the award is to stimulate and reward talented individuals and groups whose accomplishments parallel the intellectual traditions Meredith F. Burrill pursued as a geographer, especially those concerned with fundamental geographical concepts and their practical applications, especially as relevant to local, national and international policy arenas.

Richard A. Marston is a University Distinguished Professor at Kansas State University. Marston has distinguished himself and brought great credit to the discipline of geography throughout his career of applying basic geographic research in applications with strong policy considerations. His work has substantially extended the model of geographer as public servant defined by Meredith Burrill several decades ago. Marston was appointed as a Jefferson Science Fellow for 2011-2012 by the National Academy of Sciences, to serve the U.S. Department of State. His most recent meritorious work at the State Department is a capstone achievement reflecting a career filled with his efforts to further the application of geographic science in policy formulation and in the public interest. He is a Fellow in four professional organizations, including the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Geological Society of America (GSA), the Explorers Club and the Royal Geographical Society. He is also a life member of the Association of American Geographers (AAG) and American Geophysical Union (AGU). His professional recognitions also include the 2007 Distinguished Geosciences Alumni Award from Oregon State University, 2004 Sterling L. "Bud" Burks Award for Outstanding Environmental Research from the Oklahoma State University Environmental Institute and the 2003 AAG Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors. He joined the K-State faculty in July 2005 as professor and head of the geography department, then earned the title of university distinguished professor, K-State's highest academic ranking, in spring 2006. Since 1999, he has been co-editor-in-chief of Geomorphology: An International Journal of Pure and Applied Geomorphology. He has numerous journal and book publications. In addition, he has received more than $2 million in grants and contracts for his research, including funding from the National Science Foundation, Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. Geological Survey and others. Marston teaches and conducts research in environmental geography, geomorphology, mountain geography and water resources. He served from 2005-2006 as President of the Association of American Geographers.


blog comments powered by Disqus