Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

AAG Creates Harold M. Rose Award for Anti-Racism Research and Practice

October 10, 2012

Award Nominations are Due Oct. 30

At the Council meeting in New York, the AAG created a new award: the Harold M. Rose Award for Anti-Racism Research and Practice.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 award. The award honors Harold M. Rose, who was a pioneer in conducting research on the conditions faced by African Americans.  Rose received his PhD at Ohio State University in 1960, whereupon he began a joint appointment in the departments of Geography and Urban Studies at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee. He has devoted his career to expanding the discipline of geography into anti-racist scholarship, an area that had been virtually ignored. Rose conducted research on the black Ghetto, blacks and Cubans in Miami, and the quality of life in black communities, especially the exposure of many black communities to high rates of homicide.   He also conducted research on black residential mobility and interregional migration. Rose became the first black president of the AAG in 1976. In 1977, he voiced the need to expand research into the experiences of blacks in his presidential address entitled “The Geography of Despair”. Harold Rose’s work reminds us that it is possible for scholars to go beyond theoretical understanding of racism and other social practices to engage actual communities and to make a difference in human life.

This award honors geographers who have a demonstrated record of the type of research and active contributions to society that have marked Harold Rose’s career. The award will be given to those who have served to advance the discipline through their research, and who have also had on impact on anti-racist practice.  

Individuals are eligible regardless of their status as AAG members.  Please include the complete name and address of the nominee and a brief (500 word maximum) description of the reasons why your nominee should be selected. Digital submissions to are preferred. Nominations are due by October 30, 2012. 


blog comments powered by Disqus