Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers
AAG Accepting Applications for Jackson Prize

When: December 31, 2017


John Brinckerhoff Jackson Prize

Deadline: December 31, yearly

The Jackson Prize was established to encourage and reward American geographers who write books about the United States which convey the insights of professional geography in language that is interesting and attractive to a lay audience. The prize, which carries an award of $1,000 to the author, is administered by the Association of American Geographers.

Eligibility: J.B. Jackson and his friends established the prize to recognize American geographers who write serious but popular books about the human geography of the contemporary United States. The prize is restricted to books written by geographers, with preference given to those by U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Textbooks, dissertations, and articles are ineligible. Special consideration will be given to books that are carefully designed, appropriately illustrated, and physically appealing. The Selection Committee reserves the right to make no award in a particular year. Awards are announced in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Association of American Geographers. Books published in calendar year 2012 are now eligible for the awards.

Submissions: Publishers are invited to submit entries for the Jackson Prize competition (authors may not submit their book directly and should consult their publishers, with whom the decision to submit rests). Publishers should forward one copy of the published book before December 31, to each of the four committee members:

  • Craig Colten, Department of Geography and Anthropology, 227 Howe-Russell-Kniffen Geosciences, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Lousiana 70803;
  • Richard Francaviglia, c/o Geo-Graphic Designs, 3117 Lakeview Drive NW, Salem, OR 97304;
  • Susan Hardwick, Department of Geography, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR 97403–1251; and
  • James Shortridge, Department of Geography, 209 Lindley Hall, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS 66045.

Inquiries: For more information about the Jackson Prize, contact Craig Colten at


About the Jackson Prize: John Brinckerhoff Jackson founded the magazine Landscape in 1951 and remained its owner and editor until 1968. After he retired as Editor he spent more than a decade writing about landscape and teaching celebrated courses in the history of vernacular landscapes at Berkeley and Harvard. The Jackson Prize of the AAG is dedicated to encouraging the kind of thinking and writing to which J. B. Jackson devoted much of his life: to encourage Americans to look thoughtfully at the human geography of their own country; to try to understand how that geography came to be and what it signifies; and to convey that understanding to the public at large.