Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers
AAG Seeks Nominations for Laws Award

When: December 31, 2017


Glenda Laws Award

Deadline: December 31, yearly
The Glenda Laws Award is administered by the Association of American Geographers and endorsed by members of the Institute of Australian Geographers, the Canadian Association of Geographers, and the Institute of British Geographers. The annual award and honorarium recognize outstanding contributions to geographic research on social issues. This award is named in memory of Glenda Laws—a geographer who brought energy and enthusiasm to her work on issues of social justice and social policy. All early to mid-career scholars involved in geographic research on one or more social issues will be eligible for this award. Nominations should include two letters of recommendation from scholars or members of community organizations familiar with the research upon which the nomination is based, a curriculum vitae, and a scholarly paper based on original research. The award is presented at the Awards Luncheon at the AAG Annual Meeting.


Applications: Complete nominations consist of:

  • A cover letter detailing outstanding contributions to geographic research on social issues application;
  • The nominee's current CV that identifies at least one scholarly paper based on original research; and
  • Two letters of recommendation.

Please gather all required supporting documents before completing the online Application Form at this link. The Application Form will require you to upload all supporting documents before being able to complete your submission. You cannot save a partially completed form and return to it later, so it is important to have all materials ready before accessing the online Application Form. For questions or difficulties, please contact or call the AAG at 202-234-1450. Alternatively, nine paper copies of the completed application can be sent to: ATTN: AAG Glenda Laws Award, Association of American Geographers, 1710 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20009-3198.
As with all AAG awards, the Award Committee may decline to make an award in any given year.