Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers
AAG Honors Nominations Sought

When: June 30, 2013


Honors of the Association of American Geographers

Deadline: June 30, yearly

AAG Honors are the highest awards offered by the Association of American Geographers.  They are offered annually to recognize outstanding accomplishments by members in research & scholarship, teaching, education, service to the discipline, public service outside academe and for lifetime achievement.  Although the AAG and its specialty groups make other important awards (see Grants and Awards), AAG Honors remains among the most prestigious awards in American geography and have been awarded since 1951 (see below for complete list).

Categories of AAG Honors: Nominations are invited from: individual AAG members, specialty groups, affinity groups, departments, and other interested parties.  Currently, honors are awarded in several categories, including:

  •  Distinguished Teaching Honors
  • Gilbert F. White Distinguished Public Service Honors
  • Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors
  • Gilbert Grosvenor Honors for Geographic Education
  • Distinguished Scholarship Honors
  • Lifetime Achievement Honors

The AAG Media Acheivement Award and the AAG Publication Award are also selected by the AAG Honors Committee.

The citations for awardees as are printed in the AAG Newsletter provide an overview of the scope of the awards.  

To make a nomination: Please submit a nominating letter and the candidate's CV to Patricia Solis at with “AAG Honors” in the subject line to ensure that the message is properly and swiftly processed.  Digital nominations are preferred, and nomination materials that are emailed as a single attachment as an Adobe Acrobat pdf file are greatly appreciated.  Alternatively, nominations may be sent by fax (202-234-2744) or mail to AAG Honors, Association of American Geographers, 1710 Sixteenth Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20009-3198.  Please indicate the category of award for which the nominee should be considered.  Although letters of support are not required for a nomination, most nomination dossiers include 3-5 letters documenting the nominee's contributions to and impact on geography.

The nominations are reviewed by a committee comprised of at least two members who have previously received honors. A final slate of nominees is presented to the AAG Council at its annual Fall meeting.  The names put forward to the Council are accompanied by a statement indicating the contribution which forms the basis of the proposed award.  The final decision for awarding AAG honors rests with the Council.  

Nominations for these awards are solicited in late spring and an announcement in published in the AAG Newsletter, along with electronic distribution to specialty and affinity groups, department chairs, and other interested parties.

In making a nomination, please be aware that under current guidelines:

No more than eight individuals may be awarded AAG Honors in a single year.  However, depending on the pool of nominees, fewer than eight awards are sometimes made.  

Normally only one award is made annually in each category, although more than one is permitted.  However, there is no requirement to make an award in every category if there are insufficient nominations.

Nominees must be AAG members if they are residents of the United States; if they reside elsewhere the membership requirement is waived. In some cases professionals from other disciplines or professions are eligible for consideration.

Previous honorees (see list below) may be nominated for a second AAG honor but, if nominated again, the nomination must be for distinction achieved since their first awards.

The contributions of some nominees may span two or more of the award categories.  In this situation, nominators may suggest more than one category for the award.  The final decision of award category rests, however, with the Council.

AAG Honors are not awarded posthumously unless an honoree dies after the Council has voted on the award.

A nominee can be renominated if the nominee is not awarded AAG Honors in a given year.  Nomination dossiers are not automatically carried forward from year to year.

For more information, visit Honors and Awards.