Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

2016 AAG Election Results

Dear AAG members,

The AAG Tellers Committee has reported the results of the 2016 AAG Election. Those elected to office are as follows: 

President: Glen M. MacDonald, UCLA. 

Vice President: Derek H. Alderman, University of Tennessee.

National Councillors: Cathleen McAnneny, University of Maine-Farmington; David DiBiase, Esri.

Nominating Committee: Meghan Cope, University of Vermont; Hilda Kurtz, University of Georgia; Marianna Pavlovskaya, Hunter College, CUNY.             

Honors Committee A: Wei Li, Arizona State University. 

Honors Committee B: Laura Pulido, University of Southern California; Nathan Sayre, UC-Berkeley.

Total Votes Cast:  
Total voters:  2,689
Online voters:  2,674
By Mail voters:  15

I particularly would like to thank all of the distinguished candidates who were nominated — itself a significant honor — and who ran in the election. I look forward to working together with both those elected and those nominated and not elected to move the AAG forward in the coming year. The terms of office for those elected will begin July 1, 2016. 

Very best wishes to all, 

Douglas Richardson
Executive Director
American Association of Geographers