Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

The work of the Healthy Departments committee is to provide coherent and engaged guidance and action that enhances the future health and excellence of academic geography departments across the country. Our goals include: offering the Healthy Departments Workshop; providing suggestions of department reviewers; provide materials for chairs to support fundraising; support department expansions; support departments in crisis; provide data for benchmarking and for communicating effectively with Deans; investigating how geography departments can most effectively position themselves to receive new or reallocated funds from their institutions, by aligning themselves with the central needs and missions of their respective institutions. Healthy Department committee members visit departments and colleges and engage in outreach with administrators to support geography. The committee also designs and implements actions that would move leaders in geography towards these goals.

Committee members are currently:

Vicky Lawson (University of Washington),
John Adams (University of Minnesota),
Alexander Murphy (University of Oregon),
Marie Price (George Washington University),

JW Harrington (University of Washington),

Kavita Pandit (University of Georgia),

Jenny Zorn (California State University, San Bernadino)
Doug Richardson ex officio (AAG), and
Michael Solem (AAG)