Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

World Geography Bowl

The World Geography Bowl is a quiz bowl tournament held annually since 1993 at the Annual Meeting of the AAG, featuring teams of graduate and undergraduate geography students representing each of the AAG’s regional divisions. Contestants are selected by regional divisions via a competitive process, which in many divisions includes participation in a regional geography bowl held at the division’s annual meeting. If you are interested in participating, contact your regional division leadership for more information.

The winning team, runners-up, and high scoring individuals are awarded with prizes, provided by the generous donations of corporate benefactors. In addition, each participant in the World Geography Bowl receives a travel stipend, co-sponsored by the AAG and that student’s regional division, greatly offsetting expenses for attendance at the national meeting. Typically, approximately 50 students benefit each year from World Geography Bowl stipends.

The World Geography Bowl is fully staffed by volunteers, who write and edit questions and help run the proceedings as judges, scorekeepers and moderators. For more information on organizing a team, joining the World Geography Bowl Executive Committee, or volunteering at the national event, contact the World Geography Bowl executive director, Dr. Jamison Conley, at West Virginia University or the AAG Geography Bowl coordinator, Emily Fekete. To learn more about this year's World Geography Bowl, follow updates posted here.

2014 Geography Bowl Winners
2017 Geography Bowl Winners
2014 Winning Team 2017 Winning Team 


Previous winning teams: 

2019 Mid-Atlantic Division

2018 Mid-Atlantic Division

2017 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division 

2016 Southeast Division of the AAG

2015 Association of Pacific Coast Geographers

2014 East Lakes Division

2013 Middle States Division

2012 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division (p. 4)

2011 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division (p. 21)

2010 Southeast Division of the AAG (p. 12)

2009 Association of Pacific Coast Geographers (p. 13)

2008 Middle States Division (p. 19)

2007 Middle States Division (p. 4)

2006 Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Division (p. 9)

2005 Mid-Atlantic Division (p. 6)

2004 Southeast Division of the AAG (p. 5)

2003 Southwest AAG (p. 5)

2002 Middle States Division

2001 Southeast Division of the AAG

2000 Southeast Division of the AAG

1999 East Lakes Division

1998 East Lakes Division

1997 Middle States Division 

1996 Southeast Division of the AAG

1995 Southeast Division of the AAG


1993 Southeast Division of the AAG