Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

AAG Book Awards

distinguish outstanding works published by geography authors

AAG Globe Book Award for Public Understanding of Geography
A committee awards the annual prize for a book that conveys most powerfully the nature and importance of geography to the non-academic world.
Learn more about the AAG Globe Book Award

AAG Meridian Book Award for the Outstanding Scholarly Work in Geography
A committee awards the annual prize for a book that makes an unusually important contribution to advancing the science and art of geography.
Learn more about the AAG Meridian Book Award

John Brinckerhoff Jackson Prize
The Jackson Prize was established to encourage and reward American geographers who write books about the United States that convey the insights of professional geography in language that is interesting and attractive to a lay audience.
Learn more about the Jackson Prize


Please note: Publishers and Authors should submit to only one of the three categories. If duplicate nominations are made, the AAG and selection committees may elect a single category to expedite review.

Go back to Grants and Awards