Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

AAG Honors Committee A

(one to be elected)

Susan Cutter

SUSAN L. CUTTER. Carolina Distinguished Professor and Director, Hazards & Vulnerability Research Institute and International Centre of Excellence on Vulnerability and Resilience Metrics, University of South Carolina. Ph.D. (University of Chicago), M.A. (University of Chicago), B.A. (California State University, East Bay).

Service to AAG and Geography: President, Vice-President, Past-President (1999-2002), COSSA President (2007-2008); Long history of AAG service including Long Range Planning, Honors Committee, Publications Committee, PG and Annals Editorial Boards; Member Advisory Committee for NSF’s Social and Behavioral and Economic Sciences (2008-2013); numerous National Research Council positions as chair of study committees, member Board on Earth Sciences and Resources.

Honors, Awards, Grants: Lifetime Achievement Award, AAG (2011); Southeastern Conference (SEC) Faculty Achievement Award (2013); Gilbert F. White Lecture in the Geographical Sciences, U.S. National Research Council (2014); Honorary Degree (Doctor Honoris Causa) from Norwegian University of Science and Technology (2015), MunichRe Foundation Chair in Social Vulnerability (2009-2012). PI on major grants from NSF, NOAA, DHS, USACE, State of South Carolina, United Nations Secretariat of the International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UNISDR), and Oxfam.

Research and Teaching: hazards and disasters, resilience, vulnerability, gender and disasters, North America

Publications: Author or co-author on 13 books and more than 200 journal articles, book chapters, and other publications. Articles appear in Annals of the AAG, Professional Geography, Nature, Nature Climate Change, Bulletin of the AMS, Proceedings of the NAS (PNAS), Environment, Transactions in GIS, CAGIS, Global Environmental Change among others.


Wei Li

WEI LI. Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, Asian Pacific American Studies / School of Social Transformation; affiliate, Center for Asian Research, Center for Population Dynamics, Arizona State University (ASU). Ph.D. (University of Southern California, 1997), M.S. (Peking University, China 1985), and B.S. (Beijing Normal College, China 1982).

Recent Service to AAG (2006–2015): elected as a member of AAG Nomination Committee (2013); AAG Honors Committee B (2006–2008); appointed as a member of J. Warren Nystrom Award Committee (2012–2013), International Research and Scholarly Exchange Committee (2006-2008), and Affirmative and Minority Status Standing Committee (co-chair 2006–2007); AAG Editorial Board, in collaborating on the Teaching with Data Project (2011). Past Chair (2008–2010), Chair (2006–2008) of the Ethnic Geography Specialty Group (EGSG); and the 2009 president of Population Specialty Group (board member 2004–2010). Co-leader, Geography Faculty Development Alliance (GFDA, 2006).

Other Recent Professional Service: Ad-hoc reviewer and DDRI review panelist for NSF’s Geography and Spatial Sciences Program, Methodology, Measurement, and Statistics Program, and Sociology Program. Member, Advisory board, Global Migration Issues (2012–2015); International Advisory Board, SpringerBriefs in Geography, Springer Science+Business Media (2011– ). North America Director, the International Society of Studying Chinese Overseas (2010–2016); Member, International Steering Committee, the International Metropolis Project (2008– ), the National Advisory Committee on Race, Ethnic and Other Populations, U.S. Census Bureau (2012–2013), and Book Award Committee, the Association for Asian American Studies. The Census Advisory Committee on the Asian Population, Race and Ethnic Advisory Committees (Member, 2003–2012; Vice Chair, 2004–2010; Chair 2010–2012).

Honors, Awards, and Grants: Fulbright-Nehru Senior Scholar, India (2016–17); Outstanding Faculty Mentors Award, Faculty Women’s Association, ASU (2015); AAG Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors (2014); Distinguished Career Award (2013) and Distinguished Scholar Award (2012), EGSG, AAG; 2009 Book Award in Social Sciences, Association for Asian American Studies (2011); National Asia Research Associate, The National Bureau of Asian Research and Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars (2010–2011); Visiting Fulbright Research Chair in Ethnicity and Multicultural Citizenship (2006–2007); Nystrom Dissertation Award, AAG (1999).

Research funding includes the US National Science Foundation, United States–India Educational Foundation, Canada-US Fulbright Foundation, and the Government of Canada. Funded projects analyze highly-skilled international migration, financial institutions and immigrant community developmentin Canada and the United States, and studying the impacts of Hurricane Katrina on African American and Vietnamese American communities in New Orleans East.

Research and Teaching Interests: urban ethnicity and ethnic geography, international migration and integration, financial sector and minority community development, highly-skilled migration and transnational connection.

Publications: author of Ethnoburb: The New Ethnic Community in Urban America (2009) and editor of From Urban Enclave to Ethnic Suburb: New Asian Communities in Pacific Rim Countries (2006; University of Hawaii Press); co-editor of The Housing and Economic Experiences of Immigrants in North American Cities (2015; University of Toronto Press); Immigrant Geographies of North American Cities (2012; Oxford University Press); Landscape of Ethnic Economy (2006; Rowman and Littlefield), and theme issues of Journal of Immigrant and Refugee Studies (2009) and GeoJournal (2007). A total of 119 journal articles, book chapters, other scholarly or educational publications have appeared in journals such as Annals of Association of American Geographers; Environment and Planning A; GeoForum; Geographic Review; Professional Geographers; Urban Studies; Urban Geography; Journal of Asian American Studies; and AAG’s CGGE website.