Association of American Geographers
About AAG Membership Annual Meeting Projects & Programs Education Publications Calendar Of Events Jobs & Careers

The AAG Resolution Supporting K-12 Geography Education has been endorsed or adopted by:

U.S. Secretaries of State

The Honorable Madeleine K. Albright Secretary of State, 1997-2001

The Honorable James A. Baker III Secretary of State, 1989-1992

The Honorable Henry A. Kissinger Secretary of State, 1973-1977

The Honorable George P. Shultz Secretary of State, 1982-1989


U.S. Secretaries of Defense

The Honorable Harold Brown Secretary of Defense, 1977-1981    

The Honorable William S. Cohen Secretary of Defense, 1997-2001

The Honorable Robert M. Gates Secretary of Defense, 2006-2011

The Honorable Leon E. Panetta Secretary of Defense, 2011-13



Governor Robert Bentley, Alabama

Governor Jan Brewer, Arizona

Governor Sam Brownback, Kansas (also, former U.S. Senator)

Governor Phil Bryant, Mississippi

Governor Steve Bullock, Montana

Governor Eddie Calvo, Guam

Governor Lincoln Chafee, Rhode Island (also, former U.S. Senator)

Governor Mark Dayton, Minnesota (also, former U.S. Senator)

Governor Mary Fallin, Oklahoma

Governor Alejandro Garcia Padilla, Puerto Rico

Governor Maggie Hassan, New Hampshire

Governor Gary Herbert, Utah

Governor John Kitzhaber, Oregon

Governor Paul LePage, Maine

Governor Dannel Malloy, Connecticut

Governor Pat McCrory, North Carolina

Governor Martin O’Malley, Maryland

Governor Pat Quinn, Illinois

Governor Brian Sandoval, Nevada

Governor Rick Scott, Florida

Governor Peter Shumlin, Vermont

Governor Earl Ray Tomblin, West Virginia


Former Senior Government Officials

The Honorable Haley Barbour Governor of Mississippi, 2004-2012

The Honorable Bill Richardson Governor of New Mexico, 2003-2011; also, former U.S. Ambassador to UN and former U.S. Secretary of Energy

The Honorable Timothy E. Wirth former U.S. Senator and Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs; current President of United Nations Foundation & Better World Fund


Senior Retired Military Leaders

General Charles C. Krulak, USMC, Ret. - 31st Commandant of the Marine Corps

General Joseph W. Ralston, USAF, Ret. - 4th Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff 

General Henry H. Shelton, USA, Ret. - 14th Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

General Richard B. Myers, USAF, Ret. - 15th Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

Admiral James M. Loy, USCG, Ret. - 21st Commandant of the Coast Guard; also, former Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security

Admiral Edmund P. Giambastiani, USN, Ret. - 7th Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

General Charles F. Wald, USAF, Ret. - Former Deputy Commander, U.S. European Command

General James E. Cartwright, USMC, Ret. - 8th Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

General Michael V. Hayden, USAF, Ret. - Former Director of the National Security Agency and Central Intelligence Agency

Admiral Gary Roughead, USN, Ret. - 29th Chief of Naval Operations

Admiral Thad Allen, USCG, Ret. - 23rd Commandant of the Coast Guard

General Kevin P. Chilton, USAF, Ret. - Former Commander, U.S. Strategic Command

Lt. General Daniel W. Christman, USA, Ret. - Former Superintendent, U.S. Military Academy

Vice Admiral Dennis McGinn, USN, Ret. - Former Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Warfare Requirements and Programs

Vice Admiral Robert Murrett, USN, Ret. - Former Director of the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency


Major Private-Sector Supporters

AOL Inc.

Boeing Company

Caterpillar Inc.

CMS Energy

Esri, Inc.

FedEx Corporation

Gale International

General Motors Company

Google, Inc.

John Deere (Deere & Company)

LG Electronics USA

Lockheed Martin

Microsoft Corporation

National Grid USA

Nissan North America

Nokia Inc.

Northrop Grumman Corporation

Public Service Enterprise Group

Raytheon Company


Southwest Airlines Co.

Sprint Nextel Corporation

Toyota Motor North America, Inc.

United Parcel Service, Inc.

Verizon Communications Inc.


Leading Environmental Organizations

American Council On Renewable Energy: ACORE is dedicated to building a secure and prosperous America with clean, renewable energy and provides a common educational platform for a wide range of interests in the renewable energy community.

Environmental Defense Fund: With a membership of over 700,000, EDF’s mission is to preserve the natural systems on which all life depends.

The Jane Goodall Institute: JGI is a global leader in chimpanzee behavioral research and protection, community-centered conservation, and youth service.

National Council for Science and the Environment: NCSE works to improve the scientific basis for environmental decisionmaking.

U.S. Green Building Council: USGBC promotes sustainability in how buildings are designed, built, and operated. The Council developed the LEED green building rating systems.


National Organizations

American Congress on Surveying and Mapping: ACSM members include over 5,000 surveyors, cartographers, geodesists, and related professionals.

American Geographical Society: AGS members include professional geographers and others who support the need for geography.

American Geosciences Institute: AGI is a federation of geoscientific and professional associations that represents more than 120,000 earth scientists.

American Meteorological Society: AMS promotes the development and dissemination of information and education on atmospheric and related sciences.

American Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing: ASPRS members are professionals in photogrammetry, remote sensing, GIS, and supporting technologies.

Cartography and Geographic Information Society: CaGIS members design, implement, and use cartography, GIS, and related technologies.

Coalition of Geospatial Organizations: Consists of 12 national geographic technology organizations.

Geographic Information Systems Certification Institute: GISCI has certified over 4,000 GIS Professionals.

Geospatial Information and Technology Association: GITA represents public and private utilities and telecom companies.

International Association of Assessing Officers: The IAAO’s 8,000 members include government assessment officials.

Management Association for Private Photogrammetric Surveyors: MAPPS is a national association of firms in the surveying, spatial data, and GIS fields.

National Association of State Boards of Education: Founded in 1958, NASBE represents state and territorial boards of education.

National Council for Geographic Education: NCGE represents teachers and state officials committed to enhancing the quality of geography teaching and learning at all levels.

National Geographic Society: One of the largest non-profit scientific and educational institutions in the world, NGS has been inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888.

National States Geographic Information Council: NSGIC members include senior GIS coordinators and managers from nearly every U.S. state and territory.

United States Geospatial Intelligence Foundation: USGIF members in security agencies and the private sector use geospatial intelligence to protect the U.S.

University Consortium for Geographic Information Science: UCGIS represents 70 universities involved in GIS research and education.

Urban and Regional Information Systems Association: URISA and its 7,000 members promote the effective management of urban and regional systems.