Association of Amerian Geographers LogoAssociation of American Geographers - Annual Meeting
Register to Attend About the Meeting Schedule and Program Jobs Center Call for Papers Grants & Awards Get Involved For Exhibitors and Sponsors

2013 Los Angeles Awards

Each year, AAG recognizes students, faculty, and professionals for their accomplishments and contributions in conjunction with the annual meeting. We captured the awards presentations in the photos below during the awards luncheon held on April 13, 2013, at the Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles.

Sallie Marston, 2013 Lifetime Achievement HonorsSallie Marston received the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Honors.
Edward Soja, 2013 Lifetime Achievement HonorsEdward Soja received the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Honors.
Judith Carney, AAG Distinguished Scholarship HonorsJudith Carney received AAG Distinguished Scholarship Honors.
John O'Loughlin, AAG Distinguished Scholarship HonorsJohn O'Loughlin received AAG Distinguished Scholarship Honors.
Ruth Shirey, AAG Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service HonorsRuth Shirey received AAG Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors.
Gwenda Rice, Gilbert Grosvenor Honors for Geographic EducationGwenda Rice received the Gilbert Grosvenor Honors for Geographic Education.
Thelma McWilliams Glass, 2013 AAG Gilbert White Public Service HonorsThe late Thelma McWilliams Glass received AAG Gilbert White Public Service Honors. Bobby Wilson accepted on her behalf. (Courtesy photo)
Maya Lin, 2013 AAG Honorary GeographerMaya Lin was announced as AAG's 2013 Honorary Geographer.  Above is her sculpture, '2x4 landscape.' (Photo by Ethan Prater)
Dawn Wright, 2013 AAG Distinguished Teaching HonorsDawn Wright received 2013 AAG Distinguished Teaching Honors.
Bill Moseley, 2013 Media Achievement AwardBill Moseley received AAG's 2013 Media Achievement Award.
Bobby Wilson, Presidential Achievement AwardDuring the luncheon, Past President Audrey Kobayashi acknowledged Bobby Wilson  for the Presidential Achievement Award, which she formally presented to him during her Past President's address on April 11.
Yi-Fu Tuan, Stanley Brunn Award for Creativity in GeographyYi-Fu Tuan received the 2013 AAG Stanley Brunn Award for Creativity in Geography.
The late Donald Deskins' daughters accepted the Rose Award on his behalfThe late Donald Deskins received the AAG Rose Award for Anti-Racism Research and Practice and his daughters accepted the award and spoke about the honor.
Laura Pulido, AAG Enhancing Diversity AwardLaura Pulido received the AAG Enhancing Diversity Award.
Clyde Woods, Enhancing Diversity AwardThe late Clyde Woods received the AAG Enhancing Diversity Award. Laura Pulido accepted the honor on behalf of his family.
Laura Pulido, Laura Barracough and Wendy Cheng, Globe Book AwardLaura Pulido, Laura Barraclough and Wendy Cheng received the AAG Globe Book Award for A People's Guide to Los Angeles.
James "Pete" Shortridge, Jackson PrizeJames "Pete" Shortridge received the John Brinckerhoff Jackson Prize for Kansas City and How it Grew, 1822-2011.
Richard Schroeder, AAG Meridian Book AwardRichard Schroeder received the AAG Meridian Book Award for Africa after Apartheid: South Africa, Race and Nation in Tanzania.
Richard Marston, Meredith F. Burrill AwardRichard A. Marston received the Merdith F. Burrill Award.
Joseph Holler, J. Warren Nystrom Dissertation AwardJoseph Holler received the J. Warren Nystrom Dissertation Award for his research titled, "Is Sustainable Adaptation Possible? Determinants of Adaptation on Mount Kilimanjaro."
Weronika Kusek, George and Viola Hoffman Fund awardWeronika Kusek received the George and Viola Hoffman Fund award for her research titled, "Post 2004 Polish Migration to London, UK: The Importance of Virtual Space and Technology in the Construction of Diasporic Networks."
Marvin Baker, Jr.Marvin Baker, Jr. (50-Year Member)
Richard L. NostrandRichard L. Nostrand (50-Year Member)
Truman A. HartshornTruman A. Hartshorn (50-Year Member)
Donald JanelleDonald Janelle (50-Year Member)
John S. AdamsJohn S. Adams (50-Year Member)